Unfortunately, dairy is present in some of McDonald’s best sauces. Spicy Buffalo, I’m talking to you. However, there are still plenty of delectable choices. Big Mac Sauce, Tangy BBQ Sauce, Signature Sauce, Sriracha Special Sauce, Ketchup, Sweet and Sour Sauce, Mustard, Tartar Sauce, and Mayo are some of the condiments available.
One thing is certain: you don’t have to shun McDonald’s just because you don’t eat dairy. Some of McDonald’s menu’s most popular items are really dairy-free.
Is the Filet O Fish at McDonald’s dairy-free?
Milk, cream, water, salt, cheese cultures, citric acid, enzymes, soy lecithin, color added Contains soy and milk.
Is Mayo from McDonald’s dairy-free?
McDonald’s mayonnaise is dairy-free, giving it a fantastic option for those who are lactose intolerant but still require a condiment for their burger or chicken sandwich.
Also read: Is McDonalds ice cream dairy free?
Heinz Tomato Ketchup, Spicy Tomato Salsa, Sweet Chilli, Sweet & Sour, Sweet Curry, and BBQ are all vegan sauces (not to be confused with the Smokey BBQ, which contains honey).
Is there dairy in Big Mac sauce?
Ingredients in Big Mac Sauce: Soybean Oil, Pickle Relish (Diced Pickles, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sugar, Vinegar, Corn Syrup, Salt, Calcium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Sorbate, Spice Extractives, Polysorbate 80), Distilled Vinegar, Water, Egg Yolks, Onion Powder, Spices, Salt, Propylene Glycol Alginate (Protect Flavor).
The absence of dairy in the sauce does not imply that a Big Mac is dairy-free. A Big Mac features American cheese, as previously stated. Cheese is a milk-derived dairy product. If you want to make a dairy-free Big Mac, you’ll have to leave off the cheese.
McDonald’s ice cream is dairy-free, right?
Unfortunately, if you are vegan, lactose intolerant, or simply trying to avoid dairy, the answer is no. Many people are disputing whether or not a McFlurry contains dairy at all because it is neither a milkshake nor an ice cream. One fan asked whether McFlurries are dairy-free on McDonald’s “Your Right To Know” page, where customers may ask the company anything. They aren’t, unfortunately, according to the response. A McDonald’s representative said, “Our ice cream is not lactose free.” “It’s made of powdered milk, cream, sugar, and glucose,” says the narrator.
McDonald’s hash browns are dairy-free, right?
McDonald’s uses real dairy butter, and depending on the area, may butter the buns or grill. Always specify no butter when ordering, and if you’re worried about cross-contamination, ask the cook about it. The majority of the things on this list contain wheat and soy. The majority of the non-egg products mentioned below can be ordered without egg; simply request no Big Mac Sauce, Spicy Pepper Sauce, Mayonnaise, or Tartar Sauce, and omit the Honey Mustard and Hot Mustard Dipping Sauces.
Vegan Notes: There are basically no vegan options at McDonald’s. If you’re really hungry, they have some buns, sauces, and condiment-style vegetables for a protein-free sandwich (see the items below without egg, meat, fish, and honey). They are, however, testing the McPlant sandwich, which will be available in 600 locations in the San Francisco and Dallas areas beginning February 14, 2022. When requested without cheese, it is vegan. Their Apple Slices and Baked Apple Pie are vegan-friendly as well.
Heads Up! Although buttering all of the buns or using butter on the grill is not normal practice, some establishments do so. On all orders, specify that you do not want any butter. McDonald’s used to utilize a dairy-free Grill Seasoning, but now they only use salt and pepper to season their burgers.
Heads Up! Although butter is only listed on the Crispy Chicken Sandwich, some McDonald’s restaurants butter all of the buns. On all orders, specify that you do not want any butter. According to reports, certain McDonald’s stores employ a separate fryer for their chicken. However, it’s feasible that they cook milk-based foods in the same fryer. Check to see whether probable fryer cross-contamination is an issue at your location. In Canada, the fried chicken products are likewise manufactured without milk, but the Brioche Buns do. Keep it simple with a Sesame Seed Bun.
Heads Up! McDonald’s Hashbrowns do contain milk in the United States. Hashbrowns are dairy-free in Canada, the United Kingdom, and a few other nations. McDonald’s makes their breakfast sandwiches with both salted and clarified butter. Make certain that neither is used for dairy-free purposes. Dairy is present in the Hotcakes and Scrambled Egg Mix (for the burritos).
Heads Up! McDonald’s’ Fish Filet Patty and Folded Egg do contain milk in the United States. The Fish Filet is manufactured without milk in Canada. Make sure the protein you’re ordering isn’t fried in butter.
Heads Up! Milk is used in the Chocolate and Caramel Syrups and Drizzles. At the time of writing, their McCafe did not offer any dairy-free milk beverages. However, oat milk is being trialed in Australia.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, cooking methods, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are always subject to change. Before ordering, always study the menu and discuss your dietary requirements with the staff. Make certain they can fulfill your needs. This article is for educational purposes only and should not be taken as advise.
In any professional kitchen, there is always the risk of allergen cross-contamination. If you are concerned about cross-contamination, always check with the management to confirm that your food can be prepared securely. The presence of a restaurant on this list does not imply that it is suitable for your specific needs. That is a decision that only you can make.
Each chain restaurant site has its own administration and personnel, as well as separate owners. As a result, there may be variances in techniques, ingredients used, menu options, and food source. Always double-check that your order is safe for your needs in your current location.
Is McDonald’s cheese lactose-free?
Both yes and no. Milk is not available in the United Kingdom. Milk is available throughout the United States. They are prepared entirely of potatoes and vegetable oil in the United Kingdom. In the United States, they begin with Beef Flavouring, which contains milk. You’d have to look at what they utilize in your area. It’s unclear if there’s enough milk to trigger a reaction, but let me know in the comments if you’ve ever had a reaction to McDonald’s fries milk.
For more information, please see more information about Is mcdonalds ice cream dairy free